anniversary the first Cup Intercontinental Real Madrid

By | December 9, 2017

anniversary the first Cup Intercontinental Real Madrid

The Intercontinental Cup, also known as European/South American Cup, and also Toyota Cup from 1980 to 2004 for commercial reasons by agreement with the automaker, was an official international football competition endorsed by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) and the Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol (CONMEBOL), contested between representative clubs from these confederations, usually the winners of the European Champions’ Cup (now known as the UEFA Champions League), and the South American Copa Libertadores. The competition has since been replaced by the FIFA Club World Cup.

From its formation in 1960 to 1979, the competition was contested over a two legged tie, with a playoff if necessary until 1968, and penalty kicks later. During the 1970s, European participation in the Intercontinental Cup became a running question due to controversial events in the 1969 final,and some European Champions Club’ winner teams withdrew. From 1980 until 2004, the competition was contested over a single match held in Japan and sponsored by multinational automaker Toyota, which offered a secondary trophy, the Toyota Cup.

All the winning teams are regarded by worldwide mass media and football’s community as “world champions”.The first winner of the cup was Spanish side Real Madrid, defeating Uruguayan side Peñarol in 1960. The last winner was Portuguese side Porto, defeating Colombian side Once Caldas in a penalty shoot-out in 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *